TIFF Announces Platform Program and Jury – Toronto 2023

Nicolas Cage in Dream Scenario. Courtesy of TIFF.

TIFF announced the ten films that comprise the Platform program and its jury during September’s 2023 Toronto International Film Festival.

The 2023 Platform jury members include Academy Award–winning filmmaker Barry Jenkins, Cannes Jury Prize–winning director/writer/actor Nadine Labaki, and 2022 Platform Prize–winning filmmaker Anthony Shim.

Since its introduction in 2015, Platform has celebrated and showcased films with unique directorial perspectives. The 10 films in the 2023 program are eligible for the Platform Prize, an award of $20,000 CAD given to the best film in the program, selected by an in-person international jury.

“I am delighted to announce that we have an international dream jury with acclaimed filmmakers Barry Jenkins, Nadine Labaki, and Anthony Shim as jury members for the Platform program at TIFF,” said Anita Lee, Chief Programming Officer, TIFF. “Together, they represent the bold and independent spirit of the Platform Prize.”

Platform is TIFF’s competitive program that champions bold directorial visions. The films selected for this year’s program hail from 12 countries across three continents, all of which will be making their World Premiere at TIFF.

“We are thrilled to present this year’s extraordinary films in the Platform program, and especially delighted to present Kristoffer Borgli’s latest film Dream Scenario, starring Nicolas Cage, as Platform’s opening film. This surrealist satire-comedy has sharp, timely observations about social media culture — especially ‘going viral’ — and its impact on the way that we interact with others in our day-to-day life. Cage delivers some of his finest work,” said Robyn Citizen, Director, Programming & Platform Lead. “This year’s diverse selection is distinguished by bold character studies and classic stories told through dynamic narrative and genre approaches. Audiences will witness the emergence of thematic threads like social exile and reconnection, woven in unexpectedly thrilling ways by an array of captivating local and international voices.”

Notable previous Platform selections include 2022 winner Riceboy Sleeps from Canadian director Anthony Shim, Hany Abu-Assad’s Huda’s Salon (2021), Kamila Andini’s Yuni (2021), Darius Marder’s Sound of Metal (2019), Alice Winocour’s Proxima (2019), Kazik Radwanski’s Anne at 13,000 Ft. (2019), Sarah Gavron’s Rocks (2019), Armando Iannucci’s The Death of Stalin (2017), Pablo Larraín’s Jackie (2016), Barry Jenkins’ Moonlight (2016), William Oldroyd’s Lady Macbeth (2016), and Ben Wheatley’s High-Rise (2015).

2023 Platform Programme

  • Dear Jassi Tarsem Singh Dhandwar | India, World Premiere
  • Dream Scenario Kristoffer Borgli | USA, World Premiere – Platform Programme – Opening Night Film
  • Great Absence Kei Chika-ura | Japan, World Premiere
  • I Told You So (Te l’avevo detto) Ginevra Elkann | Italy, World Premiere
  • The King Tide Christian Sparkes | Canada, World Premiere
  • Not A Word (Kein Wort) Hanna Slak | Germany/Slovenia/France, World Premiere
  • The Rye Horn (O Corno) Jaione Camborda | Spain/Belgium/Portugal, World Premiere
  • Sisterhood (HLM Pussy) Nora El Hourch | France, World Premiere
  • Shame on Dry Land (Syndabocken) Axel Petersén | Sweden, World Premiere
  • Spirit of Ecstasy (La Vénus d’argent) Héléna Klotz | France, World Premiere

Platform Jury Biographies

Barry JenkinsAcademy Award–winning filmmaker Barry Jenkins has directed three highly acclaimed features that screened at TIFF — Medicine for MelancholyMoonlight, and If Beale Street Could Talk — as well as his award-winning television series The Underground Railroad. Most recently, Jenkins produced Charlotte Wells’ Aftersun and Raven Jackson’s All Dirt Roads Taste of Salt. His upcoming directorial work includes the 2024 theatrical release of The Lion King.

Nadine LabakiNadine Labaki is a writer, director, and actor. Caramel, her 2007 debut film, opened at the Directors’ Fortnight at Cannes and was Lebanon’s official submission to the 80th Academy Awards for Best Foreign Language Film. Her next film, Where Do We Go Now?, premiered at Un Certain Regard in 2011 and won the People’s Choice Award at the 2011 Toronto International Film Festival. Labaki wrote, directed, and starred in both. Most recently, she directed Campernaum, which won the Jury Prize at the 2018 Cannes Film Festival and went on to receive an Academy Award nomination for Best Foreign Language Film.

Anthony ShimAnthony Shim began his career as an actor, theatre director, and producer. In 2019, Shim wrote, directed, and produced his first feature film, Daughter. His second film, Riceboy Sleeps, had its World Premiere at the 2022 Toronto International Film Festival, where it won the Platform Prize.

The 2023 Toronto International Film Festival runs September 7-17, 2023.

Please subscribe to Dugout Dirt and Solzy at the Movies on Substack.

Danielle Solzman

Danielle Solzman is native of Louisville, KY, and holds a BA in Public Relations from Northern Kentucky University and a MA in Media Communications from Webster University. She roots for her beloved Kentucky Wildcats, St. Louis Cardinals, Indianapolis Colts, and Boston Celtics. Living less than a mile away from Wrigley Field in Chicago, she is an active reader (sports/entertainment/history/biographies/select fiction) and involved with the Chicago improv scene. She also sees many movies and reviews them. She has previously written for Redbird Rants, Wildcat Blue Nation, and Hidden Remote/Flicksided. From April 2016 through May 2017, her film reviews can be found on Creators.