2022 Producers Guild Awards Gives CODA A Boost

Producers Guild of America

The 2022 Producers Guild Awards gives CODA a boost as the film just might very well become the little film that could.

The winners were announced at the annual award show on Saturday, March 19th at the Fairmont Century Plaza. Much like the Oscars, the PGA uses a preferential ballot. The fact that the show takes place while Oscars voting is going on could certainly have a big impact on what happens.

History shows that the PGA is one of the best predictors of Best Picture at the Oscars. Since its inception, there have been 22 of its 32 winners follow through with an Academy Award for Best Picture.

Going into tonight, all eyes were on The Power of the Dog to take the win. If not the western, than maybe Belfast. As things stand right now, it’s hard to imagine a road where Belfast takes home Best Picture next week. Without an editing nomination, the road is going to be tough for both films. Winning Best Picture without a directing nomination is not easy but it has been done. Could we see a repeat of Argo where filmmaker Ben Affleck was not nominated for director? However, an editing nomination and subsequent win worked in Argo’s favor. The same cannot be said about CODA. This is a film that only has nominations for Adapted Screenplay and Supporting Actor.

The evening recognized influential film producers and entertainment icons with special honors including George Lucas and Kathleen Kennedy with the Milestone Award (presented by Steven Spielberg); Rita Moreno with the Stanley Kramer Award (presented by Jessica Chastain); Mary Parent with the David O. Selznick Achievement Award in Theatrical Motion Pictures (presented by Denis Villeneuve); Greg Berlanti with the Norman Lear Achievement Award in Television (presented by Ryan Murphy); and Issa Rae with the Visionary Award (presented by Casey Bloys). Dan Lin was also announced as the first-ever recipient of the Vance Van Petten Entrepreneurial Spirit Award.

Presenters, honorees, and nominees at the ceremony included George Lucas, Kathleen Kennedy, Steven Spielberg, Meryl Streep, Denis Villeneuve, Issa Rae, Kristen Stewart, Serena Williams, Jessica Chastain, Jamie Dornan, Andrew Garfield, Rita Moreno, Michelle Yeoh, Ryan Murphy, Chris Pine, Simon Rex, Kerry Washington, Lin-Manuel Miranda, Mary Parent, Rachel Brosnahan, Daniel Dae Kim, Marlee Matlin, Aunjanue Ellis, Jung Ho-yeon, and Casey Bloys, among many more.

A lot can still happen in the next week to come especially with voting taking place for a few more days.

Darryl F. Zanuck Award for Outstanding Producer of Theatrical Motion Pictures

  • CODA
    Producers: Philippe Rousselet, p.g.a., Fabrice Gianfermi, p.g.a., Patrick Wachsberger, p.g.a.

Award for Outstanding Producer of Animated Theatrical Motion Pictures

  • Encanto
    Producers: Yvett Merino, p.g.a., Clark Spencer, p.g.a.

Norman Felton Award for Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television – Drama

  • Succession (Season 3)
    Producers: Jesse Armstrong, Adam McKay, Will Ferrell, Frank Rich, Kevin Messick, Mark Mylod, Jane Tranter, Tony Roche, Scott Ferguson, Jon Brown, Lucy Prebble, Will Tracy, Georgia Pritchett, Ted Cohen, Susan Soon He Stanton, Francesca Gardiner, Dara Schnapper, Gabrielle Mahon

Danny Thomas Award for Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television – Comedy

  • Ted Lasso (Season 2)
    Producers: Bill Lawrence, Jason Sudeikis, Brendan Hunt, Joe Kelly, Jeff Ingold, Bill Wrubel, Jane Becker, Jamie Lee, Liza Katzer, Kip Kroeger, Declan Lowney, Leann Bowen, Ashley Nicole Black

David L. Wolper Award for Outstanding Producer of Limited or Anthology Series Television

  • Mare of Easttown
    Producers: Paul Lee, Mark Roybal, Craig Zobel, Kate Winslet, Brad Ingelsby, Ron Schmidt, Karen Wacker

Award for Outstanding Producer of Televised or Streamed Motion Pictures

  • Tom Petty, Somewhere You Feel Free: The Making of Wildflowers
    Producer: Peter Afterman

Award for Outstanding Producer of Non-Fiction Television

  • The Beatles: Get Back (Season 1)
    Producers: Paul McCartney, Ringo Starr, Yoko Ono Lennon, Olivia Harrison, Peter Jackson, Clare Olssen, Jonathan Clyde, Jeff Jones, Ken Kamins

Award for Outstanding Producer of Live Entertainment, Variety, Sketch, Standup & Talk Television

  • Last Week Tonight with John Oliver (Season 8)
    Producers: John Oliver, Tim Carvell, Liz Stanton, Jeremy Tchaban, Christopher Werner, Laura L. Griffin, Kate Mullaney, Catherine Owens, Matt Passet, Marian Wang, Charles Wilson

Award for Outstanding Producer of Game & Competition Television

  • RuPaul’s Drag Race (Season 13)
    Producers: Fenton Bailey, Randy Barbato, Tom Campbell, RuPaul Charles, Mandy Salangsang, Steven Corfe, Michele Mills, Zoe Jackson, John Polly, Lisa Steele, Camilo Valdes, Thairin Smothers, Alicia Gargaro-Magana, Carson Kressley, Ross Mathews, Michelle Visage

Award for Outstanding Producer of Documentary Motion Pictures
The PGA previously announced the nominations in this category on December 10, 2021.

  • Summer Of Soul (…Or, When the Revolution Could Not Be Televised)
    Producers: Joseph Patel, p.g.a., David Dinerstein, p.g.a., Robert Fyvolent, p.g.a.

The categories below were previously announced at the PGA Awards East Coast Nominees Celebration on March 14th. 

2022 PGA Innovation Award Nominees:

  • For All Mankind: Time Capsule (Apple)

The Award for Outstanding Sports Program

  • 100 Foot Wave (S1)

The Award for Outstanding Children’s Program

  • Muppets Haunted Mansion (Special)

The Award for Outstanding Short-Form Program

  • Carpool Karaoke: The Series (S4)

The 2022 Producers Guild Awards took place at the Fairmont Century Plaza.

Please subscribe to Solzy at the Movies on Substack.

Danielle Solzman

Danielle Solzman is native of Louisville, KY, and holds a BA in Public Relations from Northern Kentucky University and a MA in Media Communications from Webster University. She roots for her beloved Kentucky Wildcats, St. Louis Cardinals, Indianapolis Colts, and Boston Celtics. Living less than a mile away from Wrigley Field in Chicago, she is an active reader (sports/entertainment/history/biographies/select fiction) and involved with the Chicago improv scene. She also sees many movies and reviews them. She has previously written for Redbird Rants, Wildcat Blue Nation, and Hidden Remote/Flicksided. From April 2016 through May 2017, her film reviews can be found on Creators.