TIFF 2022: Festival Juries Announced


The Toronto International Film Festival (TIFF) announced the Platform, FIPRESCI, and NETPAC jury members ahead of the 2022 festival.

The Toronto International Film Festival is welcoming the return of three distinguished international film juries to honor outstanding works in this year’s lineup. The juries, featuring renowned film critics and filmmakers, are composed of five members for FIPRESCI, the International Federation of Film Critics; three jurors for NETPAC, the Network for the Promotion of Asian Cinema; and three filmmakers for Platform jury.

“It’s a privilege to have international juries back in person screening films in the cinemas with TIFF audiences,” said Anita Lee, Chief Programming Officer, TIFF. “It truly feels like the festival is back! The passion, experience and knowledge that they bring to this year’s Festival will be exciting to watch this September.”

The Platform Prize is awarded to the Best film in the Platform program, which went to Yuni in 2021. The FIPRESCI Jury will award the Prize of International Critics dedicated to emerging filmmakers for the 29th year to one film from the Discovery program. Last year’s winner was Anatolian Leopard. The NETPAC Jury will present the NETPAC Award for Best Feature Film from the Contemporary World Cinema and Discovery programs by an emerging Asian and/or Pacific Islander filmmaker, which went to Costa BravaLebanon in 2021.



Patricia Rozema (Jury Chair) is a writer, producer, and director. Rozema established herself with her internationally celebrated first feature, I’ve Heard the Mermaids Singing, which debuted at the Directors’ Fortnight in Cannes. There, it won the Prix de la Jeunesse, the first of many recognitions including being voted one of Canada’s Top 10 Films. Other highlights: writing and directing the love story When Night is Falling, Jane Austen’s Mansfield Park, and co-writing HBO’s Grey Gardens starring Drew Barrymore and Jessica Lange (PEN Screenwriter’s Award, an Emmy nomination, and a Golden Globe nomination). Rozema is a member of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

Iram Haq is a Norwegian Pakistani filmmaker. Haq began writing and directing in 2004. Her first short film Trofast premiered at the 2004 Venice Film Festival. In 2009, she wrote and directed Skylappjenta, later selected for the Sundance Film Festival. Her feature debut I Am Yours premiered at the Toronto International Film Festival in 2013, and her second feature What Will People Say was presented in our Platform Program in 2017.

Chaitanya Tamhane is an independent filmmaker based in Mumbai. Tamhane’s debut feature film Court premiered at the Venice Film Festival in 2014, where it was awarded the Best Film – Orizzonti and the Lion of the Future award. In 2016, he was selected to be mentored by Alfonso Cuarón as part of the Rolex Mentor-Protégé Arts Initiative. His second film, The Disciple, had its World Premiere in 2020 at the Venice Film Festival in competition, where it was awarded the Golden Osella for Best Screenplay and the FIPRESCI award. The film was released as a Netflix Original and was globally acclaimed as one of the best films of the year.



Andrea Crozzoli (Italy) is a film critic, writer, director of Cinemazero, editor of CinemazeroNotizie, and co-founder of Le giornate del cinema muto.

Márcio Sallem (Brazil) is a film critic, teacher, and writer.

Max Borg (Switzerland) is a film critic, writer, and translator for the Locarno Film Festival and the Berlinale.

Andrew Kendall (Guyana) is the Head of the Department of Language and Cultural Studies at the University of Guyana.

Marriska Fernandes (Canada) is Toronto-based entertainment reporter, film critic, and writer for The Toronto StarComplexSharpExclaim!, Yahoo, and Elle Canada.



Dr. Ida Yoshinaga, Jury Chair (USA/Hawaiʻi) is an Assistant Professor of science-fiction film at the Georgia Institute of Technology.

Diana Ashimova (Kazakhstan) is a producer at A Team Productions and the Artistic Director at the Bastau International Film Festival.

Additional juror to be announced in September.The FIPRESCI, NETPAC, and Platform Awards will be announced Saturday, September 17 at the 2022 TIFF Awards breakfast at TIFF Bell Lightbox.  Details will be announced in September.

The 2022 Toronto International Film Festival runs September 8-18, 2022.

Please subscribe to Solzy at the Movies on Substack.

Danielle Solzman

Danielle Solzman is native of Louisville, KY, and holds a BA in Public Relations from Northern Kentucky University and a MA in Media Communications from Webster University. She roots for her beloved Kentucky Wildcats, St. Louis Cardinals, Indianapolis Colts, and Boston Celtics. Living less than a mile away from Wrigley Field in Chicago, she is an active reader (sports/entertainment/history/biographies/select fiction) and involved with the Chicago improv scene. She also sees many movies and reviews them. She has previously written for Redbird Rants, Wildcat Blue Nation, and Hidden Remote/Flicksided. From April 2016 through May 2017, her film reviews can be found on Creators.