BAFTA: 2021 British Academy Film Awards Winners

BAFTA/Marc Hoberman

The British Academy of Film & Television Arts (BAFTA) announced the winners for the 2021 EE British Academy Film Awards in a 2-day event.

For the first time, the EE British Academy Film Awards took place over two consecutive evenings from the Royal Albert Hall in London. The EE BAFTA Film Awards Opening Night ceremony was hosted by Clara Amfo alongside guests Rhianna Dhillon and Joanna Scanlan. Eight of 25 competitive awards were announced on Saturday. The next 17 awards were announced today in a ceremony hosted by Edith Bowman and Dermot O’Leary. Ang Lee will be receiving the Fellowship, the highest honor that anyone can receive.

While the award body isn’t the same as SAG, DGA, or PGA, there are a number of similarities in how they are voting. I think it’s safe to say that Minari’s Yuh-Jung Youn is now a lock for Best Supporting Actress. A few weeks ago, I would have said that Borat Subsequent Moviefilm’s Maria Bakalova had a strong chance. Following both SAG and BAFTA, Maria’s odds are looking slim as of now. At this point on the Road to Oscar Sunday, both Chadwick Boseman and Daniel Kaluuya are locks for Leading Actor and Supporting Actor, respectively. Best Actress is still the most competitive race with Frances McDormand taking home the award today. Neither Critics Choice Awards winner Carey Mulligan or SAG Awards winner Viola Davis were nominated tonight.

Both Chloé Zhao and Emerald Fennell are looking strong for Director and Original Screenplay, respectively, heading into Oscar Sunday. It’s a shame that the Academy Awards have rarely nominated women for Best Director.

Night One Award Winners

Casting: Rocks (Lucy Pardee)

Production Design: Mank (Donald Graham Burt, Jan Pascale)

Costume Design: Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom (Ann Roth)

Make Up and Hair: Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom (Matiki Anoff, Larry M. Cherry, Sergio Lopez-Rivera, Mia Neal)

Sound: Sound of Metal (Jaime Baksht, Nicolas Becker, Phillip Bladh, Carlos Cortés, Michelle Couttolenc)

British Short Animation: The Owl and the Pussycat (Mole Hill, Laura Duncalf)

Special Visual Effects: Tenet (Scott Fisher, Andrew Jackson, Andrew Lockley)

British Short Film: The Present (Farah Nabulsi)

Outstanding Contribution to British Cinema: Noel Clarke (Previously announced)

Night Two Award Winners

Best Film: Nomadland (Mollye Asher, Dan Janvey, Frances McDormand, Peter Spears, Chloé Zhao)

Outstanding British Film: Promising Young Woman (Emerald Fennell, Ben Browning, Ashley Fox, Josey McNamara)

Outstanding Debut by a British Writer, Director, or Producer: His House, Remi Weekes (Writer/Director)

Film Not In The English Language: Another Round (Thomas Vinterberg, Sisse Graum Jørgensen)

Documentary: My Octopus Teacher (Pippa Ehrlich, James Reed, Craig Foster)

Animated Film: Soul (Pete Docter, Dana Murray)

Director: Nomadland (Chloé Zhao)

Original Screenplay: Promising Young Woman (Emerald Fennell)

Adapted Screenplay: The Father (Florian Zeller)

Leading Actress: Frances McDormand, Nomadland

Leading Actor: Anthony Hopkins, The Father

Supporting Actress: Yuh-Jung Youn, Minari

Supporting Actor: Daniel Kaluuya, Judas and the Black Messiah

Original Score: Soul (Jon Batiste, Trent Reznor, Atticus Ross)

Cinematography: Nomadland (Joshua James Richards)

Editing: Sound of Metal (Mikkel E.G. Nielsen)

EE Rising Star Award: Bukky Bakray

The EE BAFTA Film Awards are taking place on April 10-11, 2021. The ceremony will air on BBC America on Sunday night in the US.

Danielle Solzman

Danielle Solzman is native of Louisville, KY, and holds a BA in Public Relations from Northern Kentucky University and a MA in Media Communications from Webster University. She roots for her beloved Kentucky Wildcats, St. Louis Cardinals, Indianapolis Colts, and Boston Celtics. Living less than a mile away from Wrigley Field in Chicago, she is an active reader (sports/entertainment/history/biographies/select fiction) and involved with the Chicago improv scene. She also sees many movies and reviews them. She has previously written for Redbird Rants, Wildcat Blue Nation, and Hidden Remote/Flicksided. From April 2016 through May 2017, her film reviews can be found on Creators.